Perfect Match Chapter 4 [Monstar fanfic]

feat17

4.A chance or luck

It  had been over two weeks since Sunwoo had meet Nana and had gone back to his daily life routines. He was still indecisive whether he wanted to see her again.It felt better to not stir things up that had been hidden beneath their memories. He decided that it was just better to give since it was no longer going to lead them anywhere.

He was currently having Lunch with Kangwoo, since they had a three hour lecture after their lunch break, when Kangwoo felt that it was the most appropriate time to bring up Nana in the conversation yet again. Sunwoo so wished his friend had a silent mode on him that he could press whenever he got annoying.

“Don’t get upset. I’m not pressuring you or anything.But what should I tell HaNa ? She has been asking me about what happened?”

“Tell her the usual.”

“I think Nana did not tell her about you two. Do you think we should just be truthful?”

“No.Don’t do that. Just let things be as they are. She does’nt want to tell anyone, then why should I?”

“So, you have decided that you won’t call her at all?”

“Yeah…….I think it’s for the best.”

“You done?”

“Yeah.”

“Then, lets leave before we are late for class.”

“Ok.”

The two of them headed to their class and just as they were about to enter their classroom, they were approched by one of their classmate. He handed Sunwoo a bag which confused him.

“What’s this?”

“Some girl was waiting for you for a long time ouside the building. She asked me whether I knew you and when I told that I did, she asked me as a favor if I could give this to you. She said that she wanted to return since you left it behind and wanted to give it to you personally but was running late.”

“Thank you.”

“No problem.”

Their classmate walked by and Sunwoo opened the bag to see its contents. He was suprised to find his book that he had been trying to look for a few days. It then hit him. It was the same book that he had been reading before his date with Nana at the cafe. Now that he could recall, he definitely remembered leaving it on their table even after they left their table. How exactly did the book end up here?

“Sunwoo, what is in it?”

“It’s my book. It left it at the cafe last time.”

“Hey, look there is a note attached.”

You left it at the cafe last time and Iwanted to return it.I waited for a while but I had to leave, so I am sending it through your classmate.Sorry.

-Nana

Kangwoo handed over the note to Sunwoo who re-read the note several times to let it sink in. Nana came all the way to his college to return a book. How did she have it in the first place, they had left the cafe together. Sunwoo was beyond confused and the same time pleasantly suprised.

“What are you going to do now?”

“I don’t know.”

“What do you mean you don’t know? She came here all the way to see you.”

“You really think so?”

“C’mon you are not that dumb. You really think that she came all the way here and waited to give you a book?”

“I just don’t get it. If she wanted to see me, why did’nt she give me her number?”

“Did you ask her or give her your number?”

“No.”

“Of couse, you did’nt. Look, I think she wants to meet you again. Try to talk it out.”

“Okay, I will think about it.”

“Good. Now, lets go to class.”


The whole time during class, the only thing that Sunwoo could think about was Nana’s sudden appearance at his school. It felt too much just to be a simple visit to return a book. The sheer fact that she had waited for him or even the simple fact of returning a silly book was puzzling to him. When was his issue with the his past love ever going to end. It took years with Seyi and now Nana.

What sort of cruel deeds did he do in his past life, maybe he was a complete player in the past life that’s why now he ends up pining over a single girl for years. His friend kept nudging him to pay attention in class but he was way past the point of distraction. He was going to to have a mental breakdown soon if he got no answers.

He fingers fidgeted in his pocket until he could feel the sharp edge of a card. The card that Nana had given him had the address of her store. Yes, he was carrying it around and he was not sure why but now he is glad that he did. If Nana could come all the way here to return a book, he could go down there to thank her.

As soon as the last class was over, Sunwoo packed his belongings and fled but his friend was fast enough to catch up and Sunwoo did not want to answer him.

“Sunwoo, where are you fleeing off to?”

“Nothing.I just need to be somewhere. I’ll come back soon.”

“Sunwoo, no can do. We got a group report to finish, they are waiting.”

Oh no. He completely forgot about it. It will be too late if he left after the meeting, but he could’nt mess up with his group members. He may have to postpone seeing her yet another day.


 

Two of his group members were half an hour late. He should have just left and not waited this long. He would try to compensate later but his conscience did not let him.

“Sunwoo, you look restless like hell. Where do you have to be?”

“It’s nothing. I’m fine.”

“Is it about Nana? Are you going to see her?”

“No, I mean yes.”

“You should have said so sooner,fool. Wait let me see.”

His friend called out to his two other group members and convince them to start the meeting, since Sunwoo was running late. After the main discussion was over, he asked Sunwoo to leave and convinced everyone that he would fill him in later.

“Leave before I change my mind. Make me proud.” He patted his friend on the back.

“Thank you. I will treat you.”

It was close to the store’s closing time and Sunwoo just hoped that she would still be there. For he knew that another night would just be pure torture.

Leave a comment